Top Stories

This year’s Nobel Peace Prize awarded to Maria Russa and Dmitry Muratov

Nobel Peace Prize 2021: This year’s prestigious Nobel Peace Prize was announced on Friday. Philippine journalist Maria Ressa and Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov have been awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize for their struggle for freedom of expression. The winners were announced on Friday by Norwegian Nobel Committee chairman Berit Rees-Andersen.

Significantly, out of a total of 329 candidates, Maria Resa and Dmitry Muratov were selected for the Nobel Peace Prize 2021. Maria is the co-founder of the news site Ripple. He raised his voice against the increasing tyranny of authoritarian forces in the Philippines. While Dmitry Murato published the independent newspaper Novaza Gazeta and worked for a long time for Freedom of Speech in Russia.

Earlier, on Thursday, the Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah. Novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah has been awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature for his portrayal of the effects of colonialism and the refugee situation in the gap between cultures and continents.

The Swedish Academy stated that the award is being presented for his contribution to “understanding the effects of colonialism without compromise and with compassion”. Born in Zanzibar and living in England, Gurnah is a professor at the University of Kent. His novel ‘Paradise’ was selected for the Booker Prize in 1994. A gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (approximately $11.4 million) will be awarded under this prestigious award.

Whereas, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was announced on Wednesday to be awarded to German scientist Benjamin List of Max Planck Institute and David WC Macmillan of Princeton University. Macmillan was born in Scotland. He has been selected for this honor for his remarkable work in developing a new method for manufacturing molecules called “asymmetric organocatalysis”.

The winners were announced by Goran Hansson, Secretary-General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. The Nobel Committee stated that List and Macmillan independently developed a new method of catalysis in 2000. Pernilla Witung-Staffschede, a member of the Nobel Committee, said, “It is already greatly benefiting mankind.” After the announcement of the prize, List said the prize was a “huge surprise” for him. Is. “I didn’t expect it at all,” he said.

read this also:

Nobel Prize 2021 In Literature

2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to Benjamin List and David WC Macmillan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *