Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or for the seventh time

What an imperial reign! Without sharing, Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or 2021, the seventh for the Argentine and the first in the history of Paris SG, isolating himself a little more in the firmament of football after having beaten this Monday, November 29 Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho.

PSG, Ligue 1, tax authorities: what will be the economic impact of Messi’s arrival?

FC Barcelona, ​​which saw the “Pulga” leave for Paris this summer, still has a trophy in its ranks since its captain Alexia Putellas lifts the third women’s Golden Ball in history, and the young Pedri won the trophy. Best youngster Kopa (under 21).

The sequel after the advertisement

Finally, the goalkeeper of the European champion Italy, Gianluigi Donnarumma, wins the Yachine trophy for best goalkeeper.

And seven!

“It’s amazing to be here again. Two years ago [lors de son sixième sacre, NDLR], I thought these were my last years and today I am back in front of you. People started to wonder when I was going to retire, and today I’m here in Paris, very happy ”, Messi said.

The 2021 Golden Ball has already been crowned six times before (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019) under the shirt of Barça, which he left in tears this summer to join PSG, after twenty years in “Blaugrana”.

This time, he most likely dominated the ballot for guiding the “Albiceleste” to their first trophy in 28 years, and the first major “La Pulga” (La Puce) trophy in this jersey, after four finals lost, three in Copa America (2007, 2015 and 2016), one in the World Cup (2014).

The sequel after the advertisement

This new success also represents a triumph for the PSG, which touches there its very first Golden Ball, the second for a French club after that of Jean-Pierre Papin with Marseille (1993).

The Liberian Georges Weah, crowned in 1995, had played the first half for PSG but lifted the trophy in the jersey of AC Milan. Previously the best place for a Parisian was the third, for Neymar, in 2017, the year started at FC Barcelona. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2013) and Kylian Mbappé (2018) finished fourth.

Cristiano Ronaldo ranked sixth

The price of “Gigio” Donnarumma further embellishes the Parisian evening.

Sullen gala on the other hand for Cristiano Ronaldo, ” only “ sixth of the 2021 edition, and who shunned the ceremony presented by Didier Drogba and Sandy Heribert and grumbled on his Instagram account, writing all the same: “I always send my congratulations to those who win. “

The sequel after the advertisement

With five trophies, he falls behind in his competition with Messi and the years go by, making it less and less likely that the Argentine will be caught.

Lewandowski is also disappointed. This year it will not become the first Polish Golden Ball. The Bayern striker probably missed the boat when “France Football” decided not to award its prestigious trophy in 2020, a year truncated by the Covid-19 epidemic.

Ranked fourth in 2015, eighth in 2019, “Lewy” Still obtains the best ranking for a Polish player, after the third places of Kazimierz Deyna (Legia Warsaw) in 1974 and Zbigniew Boniek (Widzew Lodz / Juventus) in 1982.

He also consoles himself with the award for top scorer of the year, created for this edition by “France Football”.

The sequel after the advertisement

“I am very honored by this trophy, I know what it means to be there on the field, to be a goalscorer, to achieve your goals”, Lewandowski said.

Benzema also dreamed of the Golden Ball. Long announced among the favorites, he finished at the foot of the podium (fourth), by far the best of his seven rankings – his best place was so far sixteenth in 2014.

Alexia Putellas crowned

The third place is occupied by the Italo-Brazilian Jorginho, defensive midfielder of Italy and Chelsea (named club of the year by the jury), and winner of this title of the Euro and the Champions League this year.

The women’s Golden Ball crowned the captain of FC Barcelona and winner of the Women’s Champions League, Alexia Putellas. “Alexia”, the name on her jersey, succeeds the Norwegian Ada Hegerberg, the first winner in history in 2018, and the American champion and activist icon Megan Rapinoe (2019).

The sequel after the advertisement

Putellas (27) is ahead of his teammate Jennifer Hermoso and their victim in the C1 final, Australian Blues Sam Kerr.

Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma also collected the trophies this year. European champion with Italy, best player of Euro 2020, he also won the Yachine trophy for best goalkeeper. “It was an incredible year for me”, smiled the giant “Gigio”, who “Hope to live up to this honor in the field”, where he is in fierce competition with Keylor Navas, with whom he shares the PSG cage.

Take advantage of the € 1 offer
for 3 months with Google

By choosing this promotional subscription route, you accept the deposit of an analysis cookie by Google.

Finally, the Kopa trophy for best youngster, where 32 former Golden Balls vote, rewarded Pedri, who shone with Spain at the Euro (semi-finalist) and in the League of Nations (finalist) and at Barça. But there is still some way for the prodigy to win seven Golden Balls, like the untouchable Messi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *