Top Stories

Former minister Janardan Sharma will be appointed as Finance Minister again in Nepal, will take oath in the evening

Janardan Again Take Oath Finance Minister of Nepal: Former Nepal Minister Janardan Sharma will be re-appointed as Finance Minister on Sunday (31 July 2022). He will assume this charge at the swearing-in ceremony in the evening. This has been confirmed by Ramesh Malla, the personal secretary of the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Centre) President Pushp Kamal Dahal, over the phone. He told that the swearing-in ceremony is being organized on Sunday evening. Actually, Janardan Sharma was accused of including two outsiders in the tax reform of the current financial year and leaking the budget.

From June, when the opposition created pressure, he tendered his resignation on July 6. The Speaker had also constituted an all-party inquiry committee in this matter. Which has now given a clean chit to Janardan Sharma. According to a report published in Nepal’s local newspaper Annapurna Daily, from June 13, there was a lot of pressure on Janardan Sharma to resign. On May 29, just before presenting the budget for the current financial year in Parliament, there were allegations of budget leaks from the government side. It was agreed to form an all-party inquiry committee in the House.

Accused of leaking the budget for 2022-23
Speaker Agni Prasad also constituted an all-party committee of 11 members. This committee investigated the allegations against Janardan Sharma. The allegation was that Janardan Sharma had discussed with two outsiders in his office on May 14, even before the budget for the financial year 2022-23 was presented and discussed. It was also alleged that both these people were associated with a private business group. For whose convenience the tax proposals were also manipulated.

Clean chit to Janardan Sharma on Friday
Four MLAs including Khagraj Adhikari, Pradeep Gyawali, Bhanubhakta Dhakal and Bimla BK joined the inquiry committee as members of the main opposition CPN-UML. Along with this, Pushpa Bhusal and Sitaram Mahto from Nepali Congress, Dev Prasad Gurung and Shakti Bahadur Basnet from Maoist Center were included in the committee. Sarla Kumari Yadav of Unified Socialist, Surendra Yadav of Janata Samajwadi Party and Laxmanlal Karn of Loktantrik Samajwadi Party also became part of this committee. However, the committee gave a clean chit to Janardan Sharma on Friday as the charges were not proved.

The matter was also raised in the local newspapers.
According to local newspapers, Janardan Sharma had directed four senior officials of the Finance Ministry to follow the suggestions of two persons on the night of May 28. One of which was Raghunath Ghimire and the other retired senior non-gazetted officer and chartered accountant. It was clarified here that Janardan Sharma had ordered changes at the last minute. Regarding which it was claimed that this has been done to benefit business groups. In May 1996, Ghimire, who joined government service as secretary of a village development committee in Nuwakot, was transferred eight months later to a tax office in Kathmandu. He had resigned as a senior non-gazetted officer in the Customs Department on 13 February 2019 after serving in several revenue offices.

read this also:

Vice President Election 2022: If Dhankhar wins the election for the post of Vice President, he will create history, know who else has been Vice President from Rajasthan

Vice President Election 2022: NDA made its candidate for the Governor of West Bengal, know how many governors have become Vice President so far


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *